How To: Tofu Cheesecake

I love my homemade baked New York cheesecake but after one slice I know its too rich for me, its so delicious but just so full on in taste. Its like I can feel my heart muscles tighten…. oh but I do love it!! So I’ve always thought about making a cheesecake that was still yummy but I didn’t feel like I was going to die (from happiness XD) from eating it.

I started doing some research (which basically means asking google) and what I found was to substitute  some of the cheese for Tofu!! Sounds a little weird right?? The yummy savory tofu in a CHEESECAKE!! Well I thought I’ll give it a try anyway, as its a no-bake cheesecake.

Here is the recipe I have decided to use out of the many that are on the internet:

Ingredients:

For the base you will need:

150g Digestive biscuits, crushed
50g of unsalted butter

For the filling you will need:

150g Silken Tofu (the ones in the carton boxes)
250g Cream Cheese (I used marscapone for that creamy smooth taste)
30g Butter
1 Tbsp Sugar (adjust to taste, if you like things sweet then add more)
The innards of 1 vanilla pod
½ c Crème Fraiche
2 Tbsp Gelatin Powder
6 Tbsp warm water
How To:
First make your base! The digestive base is just standard, its simple. Mix your crushed digestives with the butter and press into your cake tin. Making sure it covers the base of the cake tin and its not too thin.
NOTE: I have no idea the size of the cake tin I used… I never say you must use this size…. if there is left over mixture make mini ones LOL If there isn’t enough… well you should be able to guess whether your tin is big enough or not from looking at how much mixture you have.
So what you want to do first in put the Cream Cheese, Butter and Tofu in a mixing bowl (microwave friendly).

Now mix away!!! If you are finding it a little difficult because some of the ingredients are too hard then stick it in the microwave for about 10 seconds at a time (as to not melt the butter).

 

As you can see from the two pictures above, as you start to mix, the mixture will look a little like vomit (I know its not a nice word to use but… thats what I thought) and then it will start to smooth out. I just used a hand mixer (before I couldn’t find the electric one!)

Once mixed in to a smooth and creamy texture, add your vanilla pod seeds and mix in.

Now take your gelatin powder and put it in the warm water… you now need to mix FAST!!! You want the gelatin to dissolve completely in the warm water, if the water has cooled down, stick it in the microwave to a few seconds and mix again REALLY FAST!! Otherwise the gelatin will just turn in to a jelly like texture!! So once dissolved, pour into the cheesecake mixture and mix.

Now pour your mixture into the baking tin. Tap the tin to smooth out and stick it in the fridge for about 4hours (ever wondered why a lot of the times when sometime has to be put in the fridge its always overnight or just 4hours).

4hours later its ready to be served!!

 

This was a lovely lovely cheesecake which I served with some homemade peach compote (shame I didn’t take any pictures of that).

Its perfect for those who do not like the heavy rich taste of a classic cheesecake as this one is lighter in that sense but still has all that creamy smooth cheesy rich taste without the heaviness that makes you feel guilty afterwards.

Leave a Reply

